I Will Not Forget You

One of the most astonishing statements of God’s commitment to us comes in the context of the mother/infant relationship. Look at what God says to the exiled people of Israel in the book of Isaiah.

“Can a woman forget her nursing child, that she should have no compassion on the son of her womb? Even these may forget, yet I will not forget you. Behold, I have engraved you on the palms of my hands (Isaiah 49:15-16).”

One of the strongest expressions of love and devotion is that of a mother to a child. It is a rare and unnatural thing for a woman to forget their child and refuse to have compassion upon them. But the Bible is rooted in realism—even this may happen. A woman may forget her child. The strongest bonds of human love in this world may be  shattered. But God tells us that his love is not like that. He states this mighty promise: I will never forget you. The love of God exceeds that of the mother for her infant—that is incredible! It is good to have your heart widened and for your soul to experience a fresh depth of love and loyalty—this is happening in Elizabeth and I as we interact with our baby girl. I am even more overwhelmed by the depth, passion, and loyalty of God’s love of which ours is but a shadow. Thankful for the guarantee that as God’s people we will never be forgotten. I will take that promise to the bank.

2 comments

  1. Kory! I just discovered your blog! Congratulations on sweet Adele. Your reflections are moving, and I particularly appreciated the articulation of parenthood in this “I was humbled as I contemplated our equal standing as image bearers and at the same time welcomed the weighty stewardship of your life.” Amazing to think about.

    Congratulations again! The depth of love and deep, deep blessing your family is experiencing even comes through the computer screen as I read these entries and Katrina’s updates on Facebook.

    I am so moved, even from far away. It makes me wish I was still in your family’s life on a day-to-day basis to share even more in this new blessing, your new experiences and your new revelations of God; know my love for all of you is crossing the miles.

    I haven’t contacted Elizabeth yet, I haven’t wanted to disturb this time, but please let her know that she is especially in my thoughts, prayers, and heart.

    In one Father,
    Laura Newby

  2. Newby it is so great to hear from you. It has been a long while. Thank you for your kind words. It has been such a joy to have this baby girl come into the world. I feel like God is opening up new spaces in all of our hearts. We just love her so much and are so thankful for her little life. God is teaching us a whole lot through it as well. Yes, we wished you were closer as well. We are all due for another deep theological conversation!

Leave a Reply

