Known by God

At times I question whether or not I really know God. In myself I am quite shaky about my love for, devotion to, and knowledge of my Creator. Sometimes its hard to sing to God about my great and undying devotion. In fact, I can barely sing songs like that at all. Most of the time I feel far too weak and frail. Now songs about God’s work for me that is a different story. I can sing all day about God choosing to know me. There are a couple texts in the New Testament that emphasize this point.

  • “But now that you have come to know God, or rather to be known by God” (Gal 4:9).
  • “But if anyone loves God, he is known by God” (1 Cor 8:3).

All knowledge and love for God is preceded by God’s knowing and loving us. Paul emphasizes the priority of being known by God in the Galatians text. The heart of our salvation is found in the fact that God chose to know us and therefore accomplished all that was necessary to make that a reality. We struggle to know but we can be confident that we are known.

Leave a Reply

